top of page

Say Their Name

Updated: Aug 4, 2020

Welcome all to the first entry of the Birds of a Feather Series! A big thank you to Lynette for being the first guest entry! Thank you So much for being comfortable sharing your story and contributing to our journey of self-discovery. With this series, you all will get the perspective of multitudes of young black men and women in order to provide a safe space for conversations regarding mental health. More to come! ~Cheyenne 


As I begin this, My name is Lynette. I am a fourth-year Political Science major with an emphasis in International Relations and Political theory with a minor in Psychology. I like to sing, dance, and read. My favorite color is gray and my favorite artist is A boogie wit da hoodie. I am just a woman fed up with society and their complete disregard of me. The following statements are my truths, these are the things I have lived through and experienced. You are welcome to agree or disagree; everyone is entitled to their own opinions.


Being a black woman in Political Science is like being the only fish in an aquarium and everyone around you keeps poking the glass waiting for it to crack. When studying Political Science in higher education, you are left no choice but to be the hall monitor to the bullshit. You set yourself up to become the token black girl, and if you call out the misogyny and downfall of the current society you have given yourself a first-class trip to the angry black woman train. Now when you upgrade from just a student and heavily involve yourself with the ins and outs that are politics, you become the person not only the white people watch, but the one your black counterparts fear. Understanding the inner nuances of the political climate we currently live in is liberating in a sort of way. You have the roadmap in front of you. You can see how and why things are playing out the way they do. Hell, you probably have a few great ideas on how to fix it. Here's where the problem then lies; no one believes you. We have a preconceived notion on what it means to be in politics all of which is less than ideal. Then we have the notion of what it means to be black in politics, you’re a coon, you’re a sellout, and worst of all you are on their side. 


When the murders of unarmed black people take this nation by and have become an extracurricular activity for white people; I am forced to stand here in shame. When these horrific events take place, this is not just the fault of the aggressor (white people), but the system. Any system that allows for the killing of a boy walking home from the store with tea and some skittles and the person who did get off scot-free is a system that doesn’t give a damn about black people. I see these fake ass equality, rights of all protests, and I am forced to laugh because unless black is silent. I am forced to watch this system to condemn the victim and reward the perpetrator.  I am forced to have solutions and means to help the problem, yet be silenced by my brothers and sisters who respond with “who are we?”. Being black in politics is like being in an aquarium and everyone is just poking you waiting for you to crack. 


We are forced to accept what is done unto us with no way to fight it. Well, I say that's bullshit. Once black people decide to come together on a united front; like the people before us did in the 60s, the way the people before them did during Jim Crow, the way our ancestors did during slavery. We can win. We have to demand consequences for the lives that were slain. We have to fight for the right to be able to run without being lynched. Lastly, we have to be willing to die for what we believe in. I’m not saying go out and fight the police, but I am saying let's march, let's continue to call out the injustices and openly hateful things our people have endured for long enough. I have been in that aquarium long enough and I have cracked. I am ready to release all this fight and I hope you will crack too until then SAY THEIR NAME


TRAYVON MARTIN

TAMIR RICE

SANDRA BLAND 

ERIC GARNER

JOHN CRAWFORD III

MICHEAL BROWN JR.

EZELL FORD

DANTE PARKER

TANISHA ANDERSON

JERAME REID

PHILANDO CASTILE

BETTIE JONES

LEROY BROWNING

TIARA THOMAS

CORNELIUS BROWN

AHMAUD ARBERY

SEAN REED

BREONNA TAYLOR

AND MANY MORE… THIS CAN NOT GO ON


~Lynette

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page